Are You Bad at Bullet Journaling? Try These Digital Alternatives

friendlymoderator

Administrator
Staff member
I've been contributing to PCMag since 2011, at times as an analyst and columnist, and currently as deputy managing editor for the software team. My column, Get Organized, has been running on PCMag since 2012. It gives advice on how to manage all the devices, apps, digital photos, social networks, email, and other technology that can make you feel like you're going to have a panic attack.<br>All the best advice about bullet journaling says you don't have to be neat or artistic or organized to create an effective journal. In fact, the original Bullet Journal Method created by Ryder Carroll, who has a book(Opens in a new window) and a website(Opens in a new window) and a $249 course(Opens in a new window) teaching the technique, ignores artistry altogether. But let's be real. The bullet journal pages you've seen on Instagram and TikTok are intimidating because only an artist could have made them. And with that intimidation comes the fear of ruining the notebook you paid $25 for. <br>Or maybe bullet journaling failed you for other reasons, like you found the supposed mindfulness aspects to be time wasters. As Anna Russell put it in The New Yorker(Opens in a new window), "You get the sense, in some of the more beautiful posts, that it took more time to make the to-do list than it would have to complete the to-dos."<br>Here's a very brief overview of bullet journaling: The original namesake Bullet Journal Method uses a paper notebook, where you create an index in the front and use the rest of the pages to write down and organize everything you have to do and need to remember for each month. There's a formula for creating each page, which Ryder Carroll explains clearly in his original 2013 video about bullet journaling(Opens in a new window).<br>At its core concept, the bullet journal is a wonderful tool for getting organized by doing what nearly all organization